Chaplin Students Test Skills and Gain Valuable Insight at Caribbean/Latin American Conferences

Chaplin School students provided administrative and logistical assistance at the two back-to-back conferences held in Miami, Florida on April 28 through May 1. The Caribbean Hotel & Resort Investment Summit (CHRIS) and the Hotel Opportunities Latin America (HOLA) concentrate on doing business in the regions, and bring together hotel owners, executives, investors, financial advisors, lawyer, […]

Students Mix Science and Ice Cream at Community Event

What happens when ice cream and science mix? If you ask Professor Mark D’Alessandro, the answer is nitrogen ice cream–a combination that results in the delicious and creamy dessert consumers are familiar with, but with quicker freeze time, thanks to liquid nitrogen. Making food with liquid nitrogen is not a new phenomenon. Food trucks have popped up […]

Hospitality Faculty Members to Retire After Decades of Service

After the Spring 2014 semester, professors David Talty and Nestor Portocarrero (center) will bid farewell to the Chaplin School and enter retirement. Combined, the professors have dedicated over 50 years of teaching, mentoring, and supporting students embarking on careers in hospitality. At a quiet reception earlier this month, deans Mike Hampton (second left), Randall Upchurch (left), Mohammad […]

Diageo Latin America & Caribbean Wins the Beacon Council’s 2014 Education Award

Earlier this month, the Beacon Council presented Diageo Latin America & Caribbean with the prestigious 2014 Beacon Award for Education at the 12th Annual Beacon Awards held at the Ritz-Carlton Key Biscayne. The organization was recognized for their transformational program Learning Skills For Life, a partnership with the Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management. […]

2014 Loews Miami Beach Beach Hotel Scholars

The Chaplin School recently celebrated the Loews Miami Beach Hotel Scholars for Spring 2014 in the Wine Spectator Restaurant Management Lab during one of the School’s dining events. In 2009 Loews Miami Beach Hotel established a scholarship fund to recognize outstanding students in the Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management, with a focus on […]

2014 Career Portfolio Competition Winners Announced

Nine hospitality students recently had the opportunity to pitch their experience and showcase their portfolios to industry leaders at the 2014 Career Portfolio Competition. In addition to providing tangible proof of their abilities, the students were thrilled to get exposure to industry leaders and gain insight from the process. This year, three students were recognized […]

Two Students Selected as Worlds Ahead Graduates

Congratulations to hospitality students Jenifer Bound (pictured left) and Gabriela Moreno (pictured right) who were both selected as FIU Worlds Ahead Graduates for Spring 2014. To be Worlds Ahead, soon-to-be graduates must be nominated by their school or college for their extraordinary achievements. This semester, the Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management’s Jenifer Bound and Gabriela […]

New Brewing Science Lab, New Levels in Research and Innovation

The Chaplin School celebrated the opening of the Brewing Science Laboratory alongside Brooklyn Brewery’s American brewmaster and best-selling author, Garrett Oliver, at an introduction event on April 3. The new lab will enhance the School’s existing Brewing Science Program and provide the necessary facilities to position the School as a worldwide leader for education and […]

Hospitality Student Leads Peers on a Guided Tour of Miami

Ralph de la Portilla recently led a group of 52 Hospitality Management students on a sightseeing tour of Miami. From Miami Beach to Coral Gables, students traveled by bus and experienced Miami as many of the region’s tourists do with their instructor Nancy Del Risco, Ph.D., tourism lecturer at the Chaplin School. In Miami Beach, […]

Hospitality Students Awarded for Leadership at the 2014 Food Network South Beach Wine & Food Festival

Recipients of the 2014 Lee Brian Schrager Excellence in Leadership Awards were recently presented with their certificates at an award ceremony at the Chaplin School of Hospitality & Tourism Management. The seven students, (left to right) Sylvia de Ovin-Berenguer, Rossy Ambe-Cohen, Paige Wuensch, Debra Kuhn, Angelie Rodriguez, Javier Nolla, and Malcolm Prude, pictured with Lee Brian […]